lordtimeblogposts:

          Magneto 19 Preview Magneto and Polaris Last Day

Story by Cullen Bunn Art by Paul Davidson cover by David Yardin and Declan Shalvey

The Earth is on a collision course with oblivion…and Magneto has taken it upon himself to stop it!

• But acquiring the means he’ll need to do it may lead Magneto into a confrontation with one of the X-Men’s most gruesome foes…

• Enter: SUGAR MAN!

Source Comic Book Resorce

Lorna’s face looks really weird in the second to last panel on the last page, but other than that, everything looks great.

abicion:

salarta:

abicion:

Naomi killing herself because she has cancer, only for the game to reveal Sunny specifically programmed the Patriots AI so nanomachines could still be used for medical purposes (like counteracting cancer) even after the core was destroyed, was so much bullshit.

Hideo Kojima needs to not write stupid double-triple-quadruple agent plot twists if he’s just going have characters kill themselves for no reason so he doesn’t have to worry about following through on character development.

In my headcanon, Naomi didn’t die or kill herself. Her claim to cancer itself may even be a lie.

Naomi is a woman who you should never, ever take entirely at face value. In MGS1, she managed to trick her way onto Snake’s team to inject him with FOXDIE while assuming someone else’s identity. In MGS4, she “betrays” Snake, and regardless of how the player views it, in the MGS universe, she’s convincing enough that Snake and Otacon believed she really did betray them.

So here’s my thinking. Naomi faked her death because she wanted to be free from her past. Otacon abducted her and forced her to aid his agenda, despite her wanting nothing to do with it. She regrets putting FOXDIE in Snake’s system. She’s done things she regrets, and knows people will come for her to try to make her do the same thing or worse. Groups like World Marshal Inc or people like Senator Armstrong might abduct her, or try to coerce her by getting to Otacon or Sunny. Just having those connections puts her and the people around her at risk, which means she has to cut them to truly start over.

There’s no actual confirmation other than Naomi’s word that she ever had cancer. Pressing a syringe into her neck may have been dramatics, and Naomi acting like a bit of a drama queen may have been hamming it up… but it was effective enough for people not to consider that she may have faked her death.

From there, how or whether or not she escaped is kind of inconsequential, because anything can be made up. Maybe she snuck onto one of the ships. Maybe Otacon left one of the mechs with her under the idea she could use it to escape back to him if necessary, unaware she wasn’t actually helping him. Or, she really could have died, but had an escape plan ready if she had survived.

Personally, I’d been hoping we’d see Naomi return in a future Metal Gear Solid game, but sadly it looks like that’ll never happen now.

Cool fanfic bro.

Bro fanfic cool.

lordtimeblogposts:

Starlord and Kitty Pryde 1 Preview

Polaris Cameo and X-Factor

CBR News: Welcome to part two of our X-Editors X-POSITION. First up, Marc has a question about “House of M.”

How significant will Wanda’s role be in “House of M”? Will the dynamic between Wanda and Pietro be further explored?

Katie Kubert: As in the original “House of M” series, Wanda’s role as
all around badass, as well as the daughter of King Magnus, sister to
Lorna and Pietro, and mother to twins Wiccan and Speed, is essential to
our “Secret Wars” story. Her feelings on her father’s rule, as well as
her relationship with her brother, play a significant role when deciding
whose side to take in the fight to conquer the Monarchy of M domain.
She’s a major player!

Christina Harrington: The drama between Wanda and Pietro – and the rest
of the family, to be honest – can feel a bit like a reality show at
times, but in other ways, the friction there can feel very real. At the
end of the day they’re a family and half of the fun of this series is
seeing how different – and how similarly – these characters interact
with one another when they’re the ones in absolute power.

House of M Relacion

Source Comic Book Resource

I notice Katie acknowledges Lorna is Wanda’s sister, which is great and I appreciate that, but then I also see she doesn’t say Wanda’s relationship with Lorna will play a role in anything, which fuels my expectation that Lorna will be yet again segregated from the rest of her family.

I’ll be frank, I think Marvel is afraid of what these two powerful women could be together because they don’t want Fox to get wind of it and turn it into box office gold. That’s the only reason I can think of for why Marvel has been so obsessively determined to keep the sisters apart and did its level best to keep people from knowing about the one issue (All-New X-Factor #14) in a decade that let them do anything together. If they were not so deathly afraid of Lorna and Wanda’s potential, Marvel would be using it, not going out of its way to avoid using it.

As for the Star-Lord & Kitty Pryde #1 cameo, I would’ve preferred pages of what her role will be in Secret Wars House of M. At this point, we have nothing that so much as confirms she’ll be on even one page. She’s been mentioned in interviews, but we don’t know if that’s “she’ll have a big role we can’t tell you about” mentioned or “here’s our excuse for why she won’t appear at all” mentioned.

But still, a cameo of any sort is better than no cameo at all. I’ll currently plan to get at least that issue.

Again, I’m thankful she’s being acknowledged in interviews. I just want something more. Children’s Crusade, Avengers vs X-Men, No More Humans and Axis all set a bad precedent that all ensure I can’t just trust Marvel to do right by Lorna in Secret Wars House of M. I need proof now to give me a reason to trust they will. Until I get that proof, I’m not going to pick up Secret Wars House of M.

noregoats:

Cover A of Batgirl # 41 was deemed so “offensive” DC Comics pulled it before it was released. Critics and activists said it sent the wrong message to impressionable young girls and boys who read the book, claiming that it glorified violence towards women. They’re joking, right? Barbara Gordon is a vigilante who fights the criminally insane, shit like this is bound to happen. In fact, this sort of violence is perpetrated all the damn time to her male counterpart in their books, and no one bats an eyelash. Now, I know these are just comic books, but for fucks sake, it’s beyond insulting to scream for equality, but then pick and choose what aspects you get be in equal with. Point being, you dress up like a superhero, you’re bound to get your ass handed to you at some point wether you’re male OR female. I mean seriously, we could’ve gotten cover B instead….

The problem with the cover was not that Joker had Batgirl captive.

The problem was that Batgirl is depicted as purely a victim.

There is no show of defiance, such as an angry glare at Joker. There is no subtle cue to a plan in motion on her part to escape, such as cutting some rope binding her hands behind her back. It is only Joker threatening her, and Batgirl depicted as so utterly terrified by him that his mere presence is enough to paralyze her with fear. It sends a very loud message that Batgirl, plucky heroine who’s struggled with and overcome the trauma Joker caused in her life, is not someone to be admired or inspired by – only pitied, because she’s nothing more than a victim playing dress-up when she puts on that cape and cowl.

That’s what rightly pissed people off. “Cover B” is not worse. It is the exact same thing as “Cover A.” The only difference between the two is that “Cover B” makes everything wrong with “Cover A” more explicit. It was not the artist’s intent, but “Cover B” exposes “Cover A” for how horrid it really is.