1407-graymalkin-lane:

Magneto’s not Lorna’s real dad

X-Men #52, January 1969

According to that storyline, yeah. But Lorna’s introductory storyline was all about establishing how she’s Magneto’s daughter, and making the struggle between following in her father’s footsteps or doing the right thing into her central focus.

When reading the issues directly, it becomes clear there must have been some sort of editorial demand to retcon her relationship with her father, and we saw how much that retcon has hurt her even up to today. She still has a lot of trouble getting due respect for her long history with Marvel and the X-Men franchise.

I’m not attacking you if it looks that way, graymalkin; I know you’re just posting panels and pages. 🙂 I’m just informing for people who don’t know all this.

polarisaz:

bitchybeautyboy:

dechra:

Polaris’s statue

Isn’t this beautiful? This statue is on ebay sale for $100.00 I mean, look at these sexy pose.

Worth the price 🙂

Beautiful. Working on my own of the same figure/character right now.

This and one previous one like it have been too expensive for my wallet, but they’re still excellent to me. The fact they’re being made and sold on ebay like this despite how little Marvel does with her is proof, I think, of how much interest there really is in Lorna.

lupinerage:

salarta:

I’m not going long, I’m just going to say very plainly that retconning Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver out of being Magneto’s children is one of the biggest mistakes Marvel has ever made, and the fact some people think it’s actually a good thing is extremely disappointing.

Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver being Magneto’s kids means that whether they like it or not, they’re his kids. They can’t flip-flop around and say “I don’t like what you did there, and since you’re not my father anymore, it doesn’t affect me.” Being his kids means they have to face his genetics, his heritage, all of it, both the good and the bad.

Not being his kids? They gain nothing. Literally, nothing. They lose all the story potential, drama and relationship dynamics they could have with Magneto and Polaris right then and there. All of it is gone in an instant, just like that. This:

image

will never happen again. Not outside House of M, an alternate universe that will almost certainly end after Secret Wars.

If you’re eager to challenge that, let me ask this: why wasn’t Polaris part of Children’s Crusade, Avengers vs X-Men, No More Humans or Axis? Why did All-New X-Factor get no promotion, including the cover for ANXF #14 suppressed until a week before release? The answer: Marvel didn’t feel like Polaris had any reason or right to interact with her family because they felt her connection wasn’t “important” enough.

And that’s what the retcon does to Wanda and Pietro’s relation to Magneto. You’ll see it continue to exist for the next few years, tops. But unless things change drastically at Marvel, after that there won’t be any interaction between the “adoptive” family.

That is what you’re actually defending when you say Magneto  not being their father is a good thing, whether you know it or not. You’re defending Marvel ultimately destroying the family itself and completely divorcing Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver from ever having anything to do with Magneto or Polaris ever again. No more father-son throwdowns between Magneto and Quicksilver. No more cool, fun sister time between Polaris and Scarlet Witch. None of that. Just a whole hell of a lot of separation, and a perfect justification of “the fans don’t give a damn, why should we?” to keep it that way.

If you still really want to promote the idea that they should be separate because that’s what Marvel tells you you should want, it’s your choice. I’ll be over here demanding that we get a return of something amazing that shouldn’t be thrown away just because Disney and Marvel can’t make film money off the idea.

I thought the reason it wasn’t in the movies (and if you’re not, my apologies) was because Fox has the rights to all the X-men characters, so Marvel and Disney couldn’t make Magneto part of the storyline.

You’re referring to the movies, I’m referring to the comics. Though Disney and Marvel being pissy about Fox owning the film rights to the X-Men, and therefore Magneto and Polaris, is the reason they’re trying to tear the family apart in the comics.

Basically the twins arent magnetos children or Polaris’s sister anymore and they are not technically mutants

scarletnotwicked:

salarta:

scarletnotwicked:

But, they’re pulling that shit in the comics??? I thought it was JUST MCU. I like, I can understand MCU with studio rights and all, but THEY’RE DOING IT IN THE COMICS?!

Yep. They pulled it in the comics too.

Some people forgive it as “They’re just trying to make the comics more like the movies.” It’s kind of insulting to intelligence because it assumes the comics can’t be good in their own right, and Marvel is fine with making Thor female and Captain America black in the comics while leaving their film counterparts as white men.

The real reason is that Disney and Marvel are pissy about Fox owning the film rights to Fantastic Four and X-Men. The people in charge can’t stand the idea that Fox is making film money off those franchises and doesn’t have to make a better deal with Disney, so instead of Marvel demonstrating they’re better for the X-Men than Fox and getting fans on their side, they’ve decided to take their anger out on the X-Men franchise and its fans.

Far easier to hurt and attack the things people love and hold them hostage than to show appreciation and respect even when it means not getting what they want.

The forced retcon on Wanda and Pietro in the comics is all about severing their ties to Magneto and the X-Men franchise so Marvel doesn’t have to use or acknowledge them.

*insert loud, frustrated comic reader noises here* Like, I get it. I do get it. But it fucking sucks and Marvel is screwing themselves over.

Imagine how I feel after having experienced this kind of corporate idiocy four times over so far and going on five in the past decade (Square-Enix, Capcom, Konami, Sega). 😛

These companies seem to think being selfish, greedy and egotistical trumps being thoughtful, considerate and respectful. If companies are people as some like to claim, these are people that seem to think abusing the power they have is better than using it to generate the kind of good will that makes people want to be there for you.

I’ll be entirely honest, Marvel’s been better than the other four I cited as a general rule. But, what Marvel’s doing to the X-Men and FF on top of other issues like no women in film merchandise and Renner’s comments on Black Widow really dismantles any good will generated by Spider-Gwen, Ms. Marvel, female Thor and black Captain America. It’s like we actually have two Marvels existing inside one company, and the worst elements have more sway than the best.

And yeah, Marvel’s definitely screwing themselves over. Their actions only benefit Fox and certain people working on the Avengers comics, nobody else. While Fox becomes the de facto place to get X-Men and possibly Magnus family stuff, Marvel loses consumers that would get into the rest of the Marvel universe with X-Men as their entry point.

geekearth:

Spiderman x Mary Jane

She’s going to control his life when an elastic waistband? 😛

Also, second to last picture, the sexual metaphors are through the roof.

stele3:

get-your-ass-in-the-impala:

ofgeography:

actualginnyweasley:

natnovna:

i was 14 and i was walking through a mall by myself at 12am after my shift at coldstone creamery lol and a bunch of men started whistling and meowing and getting really close to me and they kept asking me questions and i kept not answering until i didn’t know what else to do so i said “i’m only 14” and almost in unison they said “we don’t care” i was so fucking scared i didn’t know what to do and they kept talking about how i looked and how my body looked and what they would do i was on the verge of tears i was all alone in a huge mall i knew i couldn’t outrun them all i felt totally hopeless until a maintenance worker came up to all of us with a huge industrial broom in her hand, i thought she was going to yell at all of us for being in the mall after hours bc she probably thought we were all friends but instead she cursed all of them out in spanish, threatened to press a panic button on her belt and then proceeded to walk me to the basement garage and waited with me until my mom got there to pick me up she had a death grip on her cart the whole time and a face of steel she looked so strong and i just kept saying thank you and she kept saying not to thank her because she had to stop them.

that was the moment i realized women were the most important beings on this planet and we have to protect each other bc nobody else is going to, she didn’t even know me, we couldn’t even communicate that well because of the language barrier, she could have lost her job for waiting with me in the parking lot but she looked out for me when she didn’t have to, she had nothing to gain from it, i’m 21 now and i tell everyone this story even though it happened 7 years ago, what she did that night helped me form and shape lot of my beliefs early on. 

i was at a grocery store really late one night and some old guy kind of eyed me as i walked out of the store next to this other lady. She and I made eye contact and i knew she was scared too. we loaded up our groceries into our cars as fast as possible and I had way more bags than her so she got done faster than me. I panicked because i was sure she was going to leave so i just hurried faster, shaking a little, and then i noticed she sat in her car, watching me and making sure nobody came near. She waited not until all my groceries were loaded, or until my cart was put away, or until I got into my car. No, she didn’t drive away until I drove away. 

And that was the moment that I realized how much women need other women. That we can’t win this war without each other and we have to be looking out for each other, every second. 

my last year in new york city, i got off the subway around 9 or 10p.m. i only lived about 5 blocks from the f train, but i hadn’t gotten more than two before a woman’s hand suddenly touched my arm. 

“that guy behind us is following you,” she said. “he was watching you leave the train car and followed you up.”

i hadn’t noticed him, or at least not noticed him following me. when we stopped outside a grocery store, he stopped half a block back and loitered. the woman linked her arm with mine and walked me several blocks out of her way to my front door and made sure i got inside safely.

another time, nocigar and i were walking home and at a stoplight a stranger grabbed my arm when i wouldn’t respond to him and tried to physically drag me over to him. she—who is, by the way, not a very physically imposing girl—ripped his hand off my arm and snarled, “don’t fucking touch her.”

protect your friends. protect strangers. there are good men in the world, but don’t wait for them to do something if you can do it yourself.

I was at a club once and my friend left with her boyfriend so I finished my drink and was heading out to the parking lot when three girls came up to me and basically surrounded me. 

“Those guys behind us were talking about following you. We can walk with you.” 

I have MMA training but have never in my life had been offered the protection and sanction of my own gender. This is so important. 

GIRL CODE. FUCKIN’ GIRL CODE. LEAVE NO GIRL BEHIND. EVER.

I like this girl code. It’s so much better, more useful and more meaningful than “bro code.”