I ran across this picture among the screencaps I have stored on my hard drive. This is from All-New X-Factor #1.

I was in arguments recently with another guy on Tumblr that didn’t like me criticizing Marvel or parts of All-New X-Factor. Among my criticisms, I said ANXF #2-6 treated Lorna very poorly, and things only started to improve for her with ANXF #7. Included in this was how it was Gambit who recruited the other half of the team, not the team’s designated leader – which was even worse in Danger’s case given Lorna clearly didn’t want Danger on her team when Gambit recruited her.

But of course, there are many things that WERE good about All-New X-Factor, otherwise I wouldn’t complain that Marvel didn’t give it proper marketing and support. Overarching interaction with Pietro, sister time with Wanda (ANXF #14), some of the spots with Gambit were good for Lorna.

That’s where this picture falls into place. I loved Lorna’s recruitment of Gambit here. She’s very cool, very composed, very intelligent and comes across as extremely business-savvy. I wanted to read this Lorna badly, and I’m happy we did get to see more of this Lorna starting with ANXF #7.

So, that’s all I wanted to say. I just wanted to share one of the moments I see as a highlight of Lorna’s time on ANXF. 🙂

Had a game of thrones style rogue thought…. in AoA Rogue could touch Magneto due to absorbing Polaris his daughter… if memory serves when absorbed permanently personality conciousness goes with the power… How scarring would that be to be polaris’s mind when rogneto had alone time or if he realised her mind would be present… ot did they retcon that bit to make it less creepy? I know she has unknown origins but based on her traditional heritage it may not be a stretch…

rogueslove:

Yeah, that whole thing is bizarre.  In the Age of Apocalypse no one knew that Lorna was Magneto’s daughter, and her consciousness doesn’t seem to pop up, but still.  Kinda creepy, if you think about it.

image

(I told you not to think about it, Magnus)

Interesting issue to consider. Kinda close to the Maximoff twin incest in the Ultimates books, only this time there’s at least a little plausible deniability.

themooseandhisunicorns:

See, my blog is not very entertaining. And my nickname was picked some awful time ago, when I was a real fan of Lorna Dane aka Polaris the X-Men character. So I’ll turn this place into a confession-like blog for Supernatural. If you like my further posts, please reccomend me to your friends on Tumblr so I can feel your appreciation and carry on with what I do. 

image

Thx for being here and reading this, kisses andd hugs angelic hearts ❤

Just want to say, sorry to hear you lost interest in Lorna, especially if something happened to make you lose interest. Would’ve sent this as a private message but I don’t see that option. Thanks for having been one though while you were. 🙂

This is a personal post about disappointment and regret at lost opportunities caused by bad behavior at Marvel over the past half a decade. It’s about what could have been.

Today, I uncovered some Marvel comics I bought around 2011 or so. More specifically, I found Avengers Next no. 4 from February 2007, and Moon Knight no. 8 from April 2007. I vaguely remember purchasing these comics on a whim as I was buying one of the X-Men Legacy issues for Five Miles South of the Universe. Those where the issues where Polaris was finally coming back to Earth from space, finally getting to spend time with her father, and finally getting her status as his daughter confirmed.

I’ve said many times before that Lorna is my gateway into the wider Marvel universe. At the time I bought these comics, I was really riding high on hope for the future. This was a whole universe I didn’t really acknowledge had any kind of value before. There were so many characters doing so many different things, and I wanted to see who they are, what they were, and think about how Polaris could interact with such a vast universe. For the first time in my life, the Marvel universe mattered, and I wanted to understand it.

Of course, all of this was before the bad corporate and editorial stuff crept in to ruin such a vibrant picture. The more the Avengers books tried to deny Lorna her place as part of the Magnus family, the less comfortable I felt with reading Avengers books. There was a time when I sincerely thought it would be great for Polaris to join Rick Remender’s Uncanny Avengers and have sister time with Scarlet Witch. I won’t go into all the details, but as Lorna’s value kept getting blown off or in some cases outright sabotaged, I found my love and thrill for exploring the broader Marvel universe diminish. What kind of a creative universe is this that would treat a character that means so much to me like she has no value, where the Avengers books would act like Wanda and Pietro spending time with her is an insult to the Maximoff twins because she’s “not good enough” for them? Why would I want to explore a universe that actively says “We hate everything you love”?

We’re on the verge of a pivotal comic book issue for Lorna in Magneto #20, and we don’t know if she’s going to live, die, or get sent into limbo. Marvel has allowed her to have a lot of great character development and writing over these past six years, at the same time she’s been suppressed from public view, kept away from major events, and kept away from her family only until they were ready to tear the family apart in the 616.

I’d like to say the overall great development and writing for has given me a lot of hope for Lorna’s future, I want that to be the case, but I find it difficult to have faith in such a future with Marvel’s track record. This is a company that responds to an outpouring of fan love and delight at the Magnus family and all it has to offer by tearing it apart. If they’re willing to do that, what are they willing to do to Lorna? What if I come to love Captain America, and contract issues with Chris Evans go really bad? Is any Marvel character I come to love safe from being deliberately undermined and ruined in the comics over business issues? Does fan love and interest mean anything to this company?

I think if things had been handled differently, I would be a much different person when it comes to Marvel. I think I’d be reading all the events. I think I’d be reading the new Scarlet Witch solo. I think I’d be demanding Fox cut a deal with Disney/Marvel so we could see the Magnus family in the MCU. I definitely would have read female Thor, Kamala Khan and A-Force; that Avengers Next comic I bought on a whim was an all-female version of an Avengers team. I think I would be so many things right now in favor of Marvel if things had gone differently.

But I don’t really trust Marvel anymore like I did when I first discovered Polaris, and the company was treating X-Men, Fantastic Four and things tied to them better. I’m not just “boycotting” anything other than non-X-Men comics for the sake of protest, though I’m definitely doing that. It’s all a complicated mix of things. There’s disgust, depression, a feeling of betrayal, and it’s all because I maybe made a mistake in caring about Marvel and putting trust and faith in a company that probably doesn’t want it in the first place.

I’m hoping for the best with Magneto #20, because I know Cullen Bunn is an excellent writer and he does right by characters as best as he’s able. But I can’t trust that Lorna will come out of it fine, and if she does get killed off,  I can’t trust that Marvel’s reason won’t be because an exec doesn’t want the X-Men books to succeed or because an editor personally hates her. I can’t trust that what they do with or to her will be out of respect for the character and the fans who love her.

Magneto #20 and what happens to Lorna will mean so, so much more for me than just “will I get to see my favorite character in more comics.” I’m really hoping the issue will prove my worst expectations don’t always come true, and that what I saw in Marvel when I first discovered Lorna isn’t completely dead. It’s not just the immediate future of Lorna at risk for me here, it’s the dream that an entire Marvel universe worth loving and exploring still exists and hasn’t been completely destroyed by corporate interests.

If you read all this crazy spiel, sorry it’s so long, and thanks for reading. I really hope my next personal post about Marvel is a lot more optimistic.