deadsquid:

here’s a weird chrono cross final fantasy flyer that came with the chrono cross artbook. i think thats front mission and parasite eve on there too. oh and threads of fate shit look at that.

Ah, the golden age for Squaresoft. We’ll probably never see anything quite as good as that time period ever again.

heckboy:

all i want from the square enix conference is parasite eve 4 and kh3

Change Parasite Eve 4 to Parasite Eve 3 and make 3rd Birthday entirely noncanon and I’ll agree with you completely. 😛

Story time!

dive-into-myself:

So I took a taxi out to my doctor’s today, right? I brought my PSP and was playing some Tomb Raider II on it, and the taxi driver asked what I was playing, and we got to talking about classic video games and RPGs.

Of course, me being me, Parasite Eve comes up–and the guy tells me how much he loved PE1. I think it’s sweet, and he says, “I actually, when I got the game back in the day, got this…” And he shows me, I kid you not, an Aya Brea keychain. I was really impressed and so happy to meet another PE fan in real life!

If I had a phone, I would’ve taken pictures for sure. Without them, it seems like one of those fake internet stories, but it’s true! He was a cool fella, and I hope I meet him again. 🙂

It really shows how deeply entrenched and important Aya Brea is as part of culture despite Squeenix not making anything with her for over a decade now, and Toriyama trying to ruin the character/franchise with 3rd Birthday. I’m still waiting for Squeenix to undo that game and make things right.

forgiatowheels:

Come see this #Polaris #Slingshot on #Forgiatos on Sunday at the #Dallas #DUBShow at the @moescustoms booth

Just for kicks, I’m going to pretend Polaris as in Lorna Dane from X-Men uses this in the same way Magneto has the Magnetomobile. 🙂

I have a rant here, and I’m not linking to anything I talk about here publicly because 1) I don’t want to contribute to the bad bits, and 2) in the off chance a mod or admin at CBR sees this, I want them to figure out for themselves where the problem is and actually do their jobs.

Even though I refuse to participate there now (will explain later), I do keep tabs on discussions and information on ComicBookResources. That’s one of several areas where I look to gauge fan and consumer activity.

On one of CBR’s threads, a poster recently blasted one of Marvel’s editors for his weight. This was in addition to saying the editor is motivated by ego and hates fans. This was all about one specific person, and he’s explicitly named. The post has been up for hours.

So here’s my question: why did I get threatened with a ban for much less while posts that harsh get a pass?

The post I made that somehow earned a ban threat wasn’t anywhere near that bad. All I did was say Marvel as a general broad entity was being greedy and egotistical. I didn’t name a single person when I said it. I didn’t insult someone’s weight as a way to disparage them as a person. I complained about the general state of Marvel and the current direction and motivations of the company.

The reasoning as I understood it for my ban threat was that because CBR had a huge problem with attacks and harassment last year, they needed to be strict to the point of being obscenely heavyhanded. Letting the post I’m referring to stay as-is, no deletion, no warning, no edit to remove anything really offensive while having threatened me with a ban for much MUCH less, flies directly in the face of that reasoning. 

Here’s my theory: CBR, or at least the specific admin that threatened me with a ban, wanted an excuse to get rid of or silence me, personally. I don’t say any of the sort of mean, cruel, insulting things that would make it easy to assume my complaints are pure hatred and spite. I say exactly what I think, I try to be fair as best as I can (knowing full well I’ll screw up at times), and I try to be thorough.

If I see nothing about that post changed or removed by tonight, mainly the fat-shaming of the editor, I am going to assume exactly the above: that the admin threatened me with a ban not because I actually did anything wrong according to CBR rules and guidelines, but because they wanted to run me off the board and that was the closest to a valid excuse they could find to do it.

A little on-the-side commentary here. No tags because I don’t expect it to go anywhere beyond here.

I’ve been keeping tabs on companies, people working at those companies, and fan reaction. I’ve done that since about… 2007. I’ve learned a lot in that time.

Recently, a certain comic book editor has been very upset that actions are having consequences, and attempts to spin people calling it out as paranoia and “rumor mongering” aren’t working. This isn’t new behavior for me, I’ve seen other people and companies try it countless times. Shooting the messenger doesn’t work.

But what IS new to me, is fans saying it’s unprofessional for the editor to complain.

It’s important not to blow off someone’s feelings coming out as unprofessional, even if they’re saying falsehoods to try to cover up something. Honest feelings coming out is the first step toward eventual honest discussion, and the possibility of things actually getting better some day for everyone. Sending a message that it’s unprofessional to express feelings disrupts any chance of things improving.

Now, what was said itself may be unprofessional, and if so, that should be called out. But when doing so, it’s important to make it clear it’s the words, not the feeling behind them, that are unprofessional. Being upset can still be professional; ruining a character or trying to “get back at” fans if attempted would be unprofessional. There are important distinctions that need to be made.