I normally don’t block people. I don’t like to shut people out. There are a lot of possible reasons for people to behave poorly, from getting a little overzealous in the heat of the moment, to needing more perspective and experience, to simply needing someone to sit down and talk to them.
But I draw the line when people start acting abusive or knowingly and deliberately help others to be abusive. That shit is unacceptable. I won’t accept it from GamerGate, and I won’t accept it from any of the fandoms I’m interested in.
If you’re so incapable of defending your views that you have to make up things, twist words and sling insults around and continue to do so without any kind of apology or shred of remorse, then you’ve already lost both any validity you had and any reason for me to respect anything else you have to say right along with it.
And then I’ll block you. Because why talk to people that abusive?
I’m making this post as my “fair warning” post for the future.
We always remember Wanda and pietro, but let’s give a round of applause to magnetos third kid, the daughter who inherited his magnetic telekinesis, Polaris.
Not just magnetic telekinesis, but control over the electromagnetic spectrum. 🙂 Lorna and Magneto tend to be reduced to merely controlling metal, when in reality there’s a lot more applications (picking up radio signals, EMP, etc).
After a lot more thought than I expected, I’m going to saaaay… Jane Levy.
Of course, I’m fine with just about anyone as long as they get Lorna right as a character. Comic book casting history is rife with cases of people complaining about a choice, only to praise it once the finished film comes out.
Actually, Lorna was the second female X-Men member to join the team (she was created in 1968). Her tenure was short-lived, however, before Claremont wrote the X-Men in the 70s and 80s. She was also a member of the team on Uncanny X-men in the early to mid 00s.
During in All New X-Factor, Lorna was approached by CEO of Serval Industries, Harrison Snow, and was asked to lead a new corporate team of mutants to help people. Lorna agreed and began recruiting members for her team. The final roster included Gambit, Quicksilver, Danger, Cypher, Warlock, Georgia Dakei, and Luna Maximoff. The latter two were still very young and inexperienced and weren’t meant to be on the team initially. Georgia joined Lorna’s team after they battled her father, Memento Mori. Luna returned to Earth to visit her father, Pietro, after the press conference the team held in which Pietro admitted to the sins of his past. At first, the team was a bit dysfunctional, but since its inception, Lorna has proven to be a very capable and very worthy leader. She was approached by her half-sister, Wanda Maximoff, who expressed interest in “hanging out”. Wanda, Lorna, and Danger indulged in a girl’s day out, where they attended a Renaissance Fair in which they prevented the burning of a human female by her crazed boyfriend. Wanda later revealed that she believed Lorna would make a brilliant Avenger, and asked her to consider joining the Uncanny Avengers (Avengers Unity Squad). Lorna refused, saying that she could never be an Avenger. Her loyalty was with the X-Men and her mutant people. Wanda, believing that Lorna already knew, revealed that Pietro had joined the team to spy on Lorna for her ex boyfriend Alex Summers, aka Havok, the (former) leader of the Avengers Unity Squad.
Marvel has made a few special moves for Lorna. Giving her the chance to become a leader (what more could I ask for) was the best move they have made for Lorna. It did proof that Lorna was a worthy leader and Marvel also made her such a tough cool ass girl. I mean, who would think Polaris as a leader of a team? The interaction between Quicksilver and other members is also quite fun to read. I literally love Peter David. He’s such a great writer just like Cullen Bunn.
Those of you who haven’t read this book yet, I will recommended to you all. There are good characters in these series but the work done by David
is extraordinary, he really loves every character and you can tell by
the way the story develops positively among them, one example of this,
is the relationship between Lorna and Pietro.
The evolution of Polaris
as leader of the team is really great, and a good thing to see her heading in a positive
direction. Right now she’s in the Magneto book helping her father saving the world and it’s also an excellent book to read.
There is no reason to think that Marvel’s been treating Lorna bad. Cyclops was treated worse and even got killed recently. Every character gets to be mislead at some point. This does not apply to Lorna alone as some people want to paint her. There are possibilities for Lorna to continue to strive as Magneto’s daughter. Marvel is doing all their best to give each of those characters a chance to shine. I can see it through Polaris despite the rumors of those who don’t like her or pretend they do. Polaris is here to stay.
This is a great assessment.
Entirely
worth reading just for the amazing roster, All New X Factor is a
superhero book that takes a motley group of mutant X-men and tries to
make a family out of them. Peter knows the characters in and out,
writing dysfunction and wit into the dialogue in every page, while
Carmine’s art is perfectly polished. I simply love this book!
What was most interesting fact about this book was Polaris as a leader and her brother looking out for her. The interaction of Wanda and Lorna and also the interaction of Pietro and his daughter Luna. Let’s not forget Crystal got to be in it too (Luna’s mother). You can safely say this book was about the Magnus Family (even Magneto appeared in this book). I really love this book and it has a lot of positive comments from a lot of people who read this book. Peter David is a bomb 🙂
I agree ANXF was a good book for Lorna, disregarding ANXF #2-6. We had a lot of great interaction between Lorna and her step-siblings, something sorely missing everywhere else in the Marvel universe for the past 6 years.
I half agree and half disagree about leadership. I think the fact it allowed her to be the recognized leader of her own team for the first time ever is undeniable and great, and toward the end she got to act well in that regard. However, I disagree that ANXF was mainly about her, that every issue treated her well (ANXF #4 and #6 were especially bad), and that she didn’t already have her leadership capability established before ANXF. When another team member (Gambit) gets to recruit half your team, including one member you clearly don’t want on it (Danger), it’s insulting.
About Marvel’s treatment of her. As I’ve said before, it’s true that she’s had good things, and it would be asinine to ignore those good things. However, the ways she’s been devalued and undermined as a character can’t be ignored.
She was excluded from Children’s Crusade, Avengers vs X-Men, No More Humans, and Axis.
Children’s Crusade went out of its way to redraw a family portrait from House of M to remove her from the family.
Avengers vs X-Men had her as a nameless cameo, one Magneto ignored being mind-controlled into submission by Emma Frost… about a month after Magneto went into space specifically to save her. Lorna had no interaction with her family at all.
No More Humans didn’t include her at all, but included Wanda and Pietro, even though All-New X-Factor was going on.
Axis deliberately tried to use Enchantress as a fill-in for Lorna, rather than using both characters. One cover had Enchantress opposite of Wanda and next to Magneto; another variant cover recolored Wanda’s hair red and Enchantress’ green to use the same visual as Lorna and Wanda without actually using Lorna.
Meanwhile, Marvel did nothing to promote Lorna getting her origin story in X-Factor #243, gave just about no promotion of All-New X-Factor, and at the same time Axis was coming out, kept the cover for All-New X-Factor #14 (the one with Wanda and Lorna on it) from release until it was too late for casual fans to order it.
When the X-Men franchise had its anniversary, Lorna wasn’t on any of the amalgam covers, yet one of those covers had Havok on it alongside the original five members; Havok came after Lorna and was on the team at the same time.
We also have one particular editor (not naming him to try to avoid potential harassment toward him) who tried to say she wasn’t important enough to deserve to be part of events (even ones with her family), and tried to make up this convoluted excuse about powers “breeding true” to say Lorna can’t be Magneto’s daughter but Siryn can be Banshee’s daughter.
All of the original post seems to follow this idea that Marvel writers and Marvel as a whole are one and the same. They’re not. Lorna’s had some good to great writing, because of the writers she’s had, but that’s wholly independent from how upper editorial and executives perceive her.
Which is as a threat to their current poor attitude toward the Fantastic Four and X-Men franchises. If that was not the case, they wouldn’t have tried to make Enchantress look like Polaris during Axis, nor would they have suppressed the cover for ANXF #14. They would have simply used both Polaris and Enchantress during Axis, and put out the ANXF #14 cover well in advance to maximize sales for the issue.
One final note. I sincerely think the main reason ANXF is perceived as well as it is now is because it got much better from ANXF #7 on after. I think if it had stuck to the way it was from ANXF #2-6, that would not be the case. I am stressing this because the original poster implies everything about ANXF was good and it had absolutely no flaws, both as a book and toward Lorna, but that’s not true. Saying all of a book is good is a mistake, and it robs writers of much-needed feedback for improving the quality of their work.
Writers need feedback that’s more than just positive remarks. As much as I like Cullen Bunn’s work, I still criticized Magneto #19 for Sugar Man wielding metal weapons to a planned meeting with Magneto.
I disagree with you wholeheartedly. What you are saying has nothing to do with ANXF and from #1 – #20 was all great to me and I’m sure to many people out there as well, except maybe you, who so called a “fan” of Polaris.
Following her return from space and the X-Men events Schism and Regenesis,
Rachel, Alex and Lorna sided with Wolverine. Wolverine then takes Lorna
and Alex to rejoin their former team X-Factor (making them leaders once again). So Marvel once again
gave her a place to be and even a new outfits. She soon found her home at
X-Factor Investigations. She came to help as
a result of Wolverine’s sugestions that she could help the team to
reestablish itself after the death of Multiple Man. She and Havok came
to lead and to keep the team together. It was during this time she
learned of the true reason behind the death of her parents.
AND so what if Marvel never gave Lorna a solo series (not every character from the Marvel Universe has a solo series). She is just not ready, but I can tell you this much… only time will tell. So don’t rush it. ANXF was her solo series like it or not. Accept it that Marvel gave time to Polaris to shine (your “favorite” character and you truly seems to be bother by the fact that Polaris is no longer what you and “others” tried to paint her with). As a matter of fact, she’s already is shining.
Beside Storm, she had her solo and got cancelled because people weren’t supporting her book. I don’t call that shine. I call it NOT POPULAR ENOUGH TO SELL. Right now Polaris IS in a popular book and that is Magneto. She jumped from a popular book to another popular book and that’s a good thing. It might won’t matter to you, but it matter to me and many others. AND soon or later, she will be the only one to carry her father’s legacy, but that’s another time and another story. Magneto won’t be around for that long. Trust can believe.
In the Third incarnation of X-factor’s team, Harrison Snow found Polaris first and gave her the leadership, not the other way around. She’s the leader of the team, although it’s through the eyes of the first recruit the premiere story is told. Madrox
has sold off the X-Factor brand which has been picked up Serval
Industries. Under the control of Harrison Snow, a new team is being
formed with Polaris and Quicksilver as the base. Quicksilver and Polaris
bring in Gambit to the team and begin to assemble more mutants to help
their investigative team. Peter David’s All-New X-Factor
is a ton of fun, leavened with enough drama and action to keep it from
just being snappy one-liners and snarky cast conflict. In this
incarnation of the team, David takes both classic X-characters (in his
always-insightful ways) and fits them into the rarely-well-explored
trope of corporate-sponsored heroes.
I actually had no problem with any issues. Your opinion mean nothing against thousands of people who were supporting this book.
The first 6 issues introduce us to the teams new benefactor–Mr. Snow of
Serval Industries–and their acquisition of 3 new team members. Polaris and Gambit was the focal points, except Polaris was the leader and she was the bad-ass. David writes these characters perfectly, and even a character that is new to him. As
usual, Peter David does not disappoint. This third incarnation of his
X-Factor kept me entertained from cover to cover. No complaints there –
it’s a good book and you know it.
Don’t hate because Lorna became the leader of the team and not Gambit. Don’t hate because Marvel decided to take Polaris to the right path. Don’t hate because you only worship for Storm, Jean, Cyclops, and others except Polaris. Don’t pretend you feel bad for Polaris and on top of that, you go around trolling everywhere you see a post of Polaris. I mean, look at you here. Everyone can see where you are actually coming from. Your true colors are finally emerging.
Polaris was not in Axis? And yet, there were 3 ties-in. And just like many other ties-in, Lorna’s All-New X-Factor Axis intervened to prevent the capital city, Washington D.C., from burning to the ground (I guess you know the story). Shortly after that, Magneto came to get Quicksilver in order for him to help his “father” to stop Scarlet Witch.
Polaris was not needed in Axis, because this was about Magneto and the twins retcon and not about Polaris and Magneto retcon (oh so you wish). And do me a favor, don’t compare Enchantress with Polaris. They are TOTALLY different character. One is a God and the other one is a mutant. One has blonde hair and the other one GREEN. One has the ability of magic whereas the other one has MAGNETISM. As you can see they are two totally COMPLETELY different characters. They only share the same green color which Enchantress always wear a skirt and the other one wear many MANY different outfits and colors. And let me assure you they’re not the only one who wear green… ha.
“Axis deliberately tried to use Enchantress as a fill-in for Lorna”
Just because writers thought Lorna was not needed in Axis does not mean she was a bad character. I mean, did you really read these books? Polaris was not needed in Magneto’s team (and I believe a writer would’ve thought first if Magneto really wanted to drag his daughter into a death camp) The reason he created these villains team to work was because… those Sentinels was programed as Hero-Killers. Polaris is not a villain, but Enchantress is and needed villains in order to save those heroes. I’m glad Polaris was not even in the whole Axis story. Do you have any idea how bad this book was? Any idea how really I mean REALLY bad the whole story was? So bad that you don’t even want to know. I’m glad she wasn’t in a book where everyone was hating and criticizing about it. At least Polaris was saved from this criticism.
Again, Avengers: The Children’s Crusade (2010), Polaris was not around because she was in space doing other things. You know, like during the Rise And Fall of Shi’ar (2007), X-Men Emperor Vulcan (2007-2008), X-Men King Breaker (2009), War of Kings (2009), X-Men Legacy (2011) she was still a starjammer when she got to see her father during the arc of Five Miles South of The Universe Part 1-5) and she didn’t came back to Earth until X-Factor issue #233 (2012).
So, Children’s Crusade happened in 2010 and Polaris was last seen in 2011 in space and she didn’t came back to Earth until 2012 after all the crazy drama happened. That said, she was occupied by other writers. It’s not like you saying… “she wasn’t needed or respected”. OH PLEASE. You won’t convince anyone.
If you’d like to sight why someone deserves to be higher then please go
right ahead, I encourage you too as I did everyone else….otherwise…
… X-Factor was wholly segregated from any major events by the time Lorna and Alex joined. All-New X-Factor was the same way; its involvement in Axis was so loose it could’ve been done outside Axis with some very light editing.
I never said anything about Polaris getting a solo series. That’s words you’re putting in my mouth. It’d be great, but it’s not required by any means.
ANXF was not her solo series. If it had been, a certain key person involved in ANXF would have blamed Lorna fans instead of Gambit fans for lack of support causing its cancellation. Who gets the blame is typically the person perceived as most crucial to the book.
ANXF also was not popular, and its sales proved it. It COULD have been popular IF Marvel gave it proper promotion starting with ANXF #7, but they didn’t. They refused to do so.
You also got key details of ANXF wrong. Polaris recruited Gambit by her lonesome, Quicksilver was recruited by team owner Harrison Snow after Gambit was already on the team. Quicksilver played no part in Gambit’s recruitment.
Your entire post is rife with insults, false accusations, twisting of my words and complete fabrications of things I never even remotely said or implied. I don’t know if you somehow misunderstood everything I said, or if this is all a deliberate attempt to smear me. It looks like the latter, but I’ll assume the former.
No matter what it is, it won’t stop me from supporting Lorna or taking Marvel to task when necessary, and I’ll trust the average person will know me by me. Not the claims someone else makes of me.