relevant
People love to forget Michael Jackson’s blackness
people love to think that Michael Jackson forgot his blackness
People love to pretend to forget that Michael Jackson’s autopsy results showed that he DID have a skin disease and never “dyed” his skin.
People also love to revel in rumours and concentrate on the private life of celebrities instead of their actual message. Michael Jackson was a proud black man who spoke against racism, poverty, homelessness, the lack of education, hurting nature, war, and tabloid culture which distracts people from bigger issues. (Look up especially the second verse of Tabloid Junkie, it’s as relevant as the above gifs of They Don’t Care About Us.)
He not only spoke against these things but he did his everything to spread the message and constantly practiced what he preached and used his money to make a difference in people’s lives. Yet people choose to ignore that and use him as the butt of a joke.
Michael Jackson always said he was black
NEVER ONCE has he referred to himself as white
The media tried their very best as framing him as a self hating person who whitewashed himself.
Galleries
#yeah backtracked real fast there didn’t you assholes (via ilvalentinos)
fuck this post. Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver were overlooked too and they are who i’m most excited to see. Fuck this bitch. Fuck her entitled overblown fans. Whatever.
I think the excitement of Black Widow winning is mostly about how the original tweet ignored a woman in favor of the heavily promoted men, only for the woman to be the one with the most votes.
The Boko Haram massacres that the media isn’t talking about.
They’re burning men to a crisp, raping dozens of women before putting bullets in them, strapping explosives to children and forcing them into busy town squares…
Don’t allow yourself to be blind to the injustices happening all over the world. One is not more important than the other; murder is murder.
Omg
This hurts so much!! My heart can’t deal 😢
If 2000 white people got killed in any country we would be hearing about it for months
😢 This is our world? How can people accept this? How can anyone think this is ohkay? And how can you not cover this? Is dark skin that much of a problem for you? Fuck you! These are people! Living, loving, breathing people who have lost their lives violently! And you are so scared of dark skin that you can’t even show that this is what’s happening to them? Is it cuz then the injustices happening to people of darker skin in every culture will be true? You can’t face that this is true. This genocide of a people with the only reason being because their skin is darker than yours. I’m so fucking disgusted and emotional. I Can’t even look at the picture. But I will to remind me that this is what’s happening. No matter how hard it is I will look at it for strength. And I will never stop fighting for the justice of my people and anyone who is threatened and killed and feared because of things they can’t control, because of things that shouldn’t be feared.
So appalled and fucking livid. DamnI am a South African.
I have been scrolling down my timeline for days now waiting to see something about Nigeria. This is the first post that I have seen and it breaks my heart.
When Mike Brown was killed every second post was about it. About the injustice of the whole situation. Everyone was up in arms and everyone was angry – it was amazing to see. It was unity and solidarity and awareness.
But now these attacks have begun. Terrible, terrible things have been happening in Nigeria and nobody knows. There are no voices crying out for these innocent souls because the world is turning a blind eye. Because ‘who cares about Africa’ – let alone Nigeria.
This isn’t just because of race – these horrors aren’t being kept from the world because these people are black. Hell – they aren’t even being kept from you! Its because nobody wants to report a story about a third world country. It’s not glamorous enough. It’s not ‘good enough’ for mainstream media.And that is fucking unacceptable.
2014 in a nutshell
Bonus points for it being a white guy and a person of color.
Double bonus points for it being a man and a women
Jim Buchy, y’all, a Republican member of the Ohio House of Representatives.
Pietro & Lorna in ANXF #20
If Marvel were any good after this we’d have:
-Pietro & Luna at the Avengers. And the issues that come when Crystal wants to take Luna back.
-Lorna struggling with the fact that her relationship with Pietro has gone downhill again.
-Pietro and Wanda talking about how they’ve gotten so out of touch that they’re actually doing things to anger each other.
-Pietro trying to put his life back together despite people not trusting him, and Wanda doing the same. And hell, Lorna doing the same. Not only for themselves and for their teams but for each other.
-And then Lorna, Wanda, and Pietro get some time together. Maybe even fight some crime together. But they get to be siblings for the first time in ages.
But that won’t happen.
Because Marvel sucks. 🙂
Pietro: Not really. Dad says he’s good with the one he has now. We’re very photogenic.
Wanda: If you mean extended in school family, then yes. It’s horrifying to attempt a group photo.
Pietro: Last time we tried, we lost Kitty, someone gave Wade a buzz saw and we had to de-spike Logan after Spyke through a tantrum. Weneversawthat camera again.
does this make anyone else sick???
American Sniper has made almost quadruple the amount as selma. QUADRUPLE. Everyone loves a good American hero, right? As long as it’s a white guy killing non-white people. Martin Luther King, not important enough. Movie directed by a woman of color, not important enough.
also note that Selma, being PG-13, is accessible to a far larger audience!! and STILL is lagging!!!!!!!!!!!
American Sniper is a piece of shit
When we look at these numbers, it’s important to bear in mind the differences in what most people expect from both films, and how they are likely to be seen and treated as time passes.
We’re talking about the box office here. Most people expect action, stuff you don’t have to put too much thought into, and stuff that they believe 100% can and will relate to them personally in the here and now. American Sniper at least has the appearance of all three of these things. It’s people shooting other people a lot, the “we must fight terrorism” aspect is fairly straightforward, and most people can relate in some way to how it involves a soldier over in Middle East considering that’s where U.S. troops have been deployed the most.
Selma promises to be a lot of talk with occasional bits of action, a lot of actual thought and debate to major issues, and a lot of people have the mistaken impression it has no relation to them because it happened half a decade ago.
Now bear this in mind: the numbers change when you apply being able to watch it quickly and easily in the comfort of your own home, and with the passage of time.
Once it’s on VOD, people won’t need to make a special trip to see Selma, so many of the hang-ups they have over going to the box office (which, I’d like to remind, is getting ludicrously expensive) to see Selma as compared to American Sniper will not be a factor.
As time passes, American Sniper will lose its draw because it will be replaced with a more current film dealing with more current problems and concerns.
That is not an issue for Selma. Selma is an important film for conveying civil rights issues and a major cornerstone of the civil rights movement. It’s the type of film that’s likely to come up again and again as an example of a critical point in U.S. history, and it’s likely to be used for history classes to boot.
If you just look at the box office numbers of these films to date, then sure, it might look really depressing and worrisome about the state of the country. That’s why it’s very important to think about what each film is, what environment they’re operating in, how they relate to other films, and see the big picture. Side by side, Selma is the film that will stand the test of time and have the greater impact on society.
Holy crap this issue is awesome! Complete chaos erupts as the X-Men and Magneto go to war over Lorna Dane. What’s great about this (and what might not be obvious from the pictures) is that Lorna is no damsel in distress here. She is a supremely powerful character that both sides are trying to convince to join them. Lorna has a pure heart but can’t bring herself to turn on her father. The argument heats up until Cyclops decks Magneto and then a massive battle erupts with the X-Men trying to fight off Magneto’s ARMY of evil mutants. This shit is SO GOOD. (The X-Men #51 – Dec 1968)
This was real Lorna Dane. Later writers severely diminished her into being a character nobody fights over.
And you have to wonder how much of that attitude is one based in not respecting women, considering Lorna was a powerful female icon bordering on a feminist icon at the time.