I need feminism because most men’s restrooms still aren’t equipped with baby changing stations. As someone who was married to a man who had sole custody of his young son, I’m hyperaware that feminism means EQUALITY, not female superiority. Feminism should and does support a man’s right to be as much of a parent to his child(ren) as any mother is allowed/expected to be.
This is a constant problem for Mr. Tea and myself. We’ve got twins, so even though I can change one kid on the change table in the ladies’ room, he’s left standing sort of awkwardly in the lobby with a messy child while I change one, come back, and get the other.
Nobody’s suggesting that men aren’t parents, so the lack of change tables goes well beyond ‘gender role reinforcing’ and straight into ‘ridiculous’.
My dad actually almost got kicked out of a mall once for changing my brother in the womens room of a mall. The only reason they didn’t call the cops on him was because the ladies in the room supported him.
I’d never even considered this but I support it
Galleries
Polaris + Jean Grey
my wig for the anxf lorna cosplay arrived, this is amazing i’m so happy
Looks good!
Jim Buchy, y’all, a Republican member of the Ohio House of Representatives.
Perfecto.
perfect
May they be forever alone for their elitist douche-baggery.
I was recently interviewing the woman who founded Her Universe and we were talking specifically about women and geekdom. I asked about the rise of girls in geek culture and she very accurately corrected me: There is no “rise” of geek girls. We’ve always been here. Girls are just as nerdy as dudes are. Ladies have always been interested in sci fi and fantasy and video games – we just don’t talk about it a lot because men are assholes.
Reblogging for all of the above, but it’s especially the last comment that made me hit the button to share.
Very true. Most of the (non-porn, but even some porn) fanfic writers I’ve come across are women, and on top of it, women that were gamers all their lives.
A lot of asshole guys out there want to believe that women hated video games and only suddenly decided to get into them recently because games are “cool” now and a massive Hollywood-rivaling business. That’s not the case, what really happened is that the industry marketed specifically toward boys and boys alone, so boys got the impression that video games were something girls would ostracize them for.
Ultimately, the industry and women within it are suffering from a bullshit marketing angle that a lot of shitty guys took as a fact of life. It really shows how dangerous a marketer can be if they say and do the wrong thing just to make a buck.
Interested? Follow us @ Marvel-X-Factor-Big-Bang.tumblr.com
(Banner and Req Images via Marvel Comics; Big-Bang Schedule Artwork via Estrella Vega.)
First there was hardly any coverage of the Chapel Hill shootings and now that there is, a number of major media outlets are trying to pass this off as a “dispute over a parking space.” Stop trying to twist the facts: this was a sickening Islamophobic attack. This was a hate crime.
Two things to address.
1) I haven’t watched the media approach much on this, but I can definitely see the media trying to play up the parking space bit exclusively because they think it makes the hate crime seem “bizarre” enough to garner ratings. As shitty as it sounds, the networks may assume that people will just tune it out if they don’t throw in the parking space element.
2) I think most people realize there’s no way in hell this wasn’t a hate crime. Nobody murders someone else over a parking space. Even if that was the “reason,” it didn’t happen all by its lonesome, it happened because of other elements to the issue.
The silver lining hope I have here is that maybe, just maybe, the “parking space” bullshit will get some people who normally wouldn’t think of Islamophobia and attacks like this to rethink their stance and put more thought into the discrimination many Muslim people experience.
Women of Marvel variants by Elena Casagrande, Shoe Murase, Amanda Conner, GURIHURU, Noelle Stevenson, Laura Braga, and Faith Erin Hicks
These are missing Lorna.
I want to absorb your life force, Sugah!
“I’M BACK, SCOTT. YOU’RE ABOUT TO DIE. HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY.”
X-Men #173
FUCK THIS ASSWIPE
all you Havok apologists can eat my ass
From what I’ve seen of Havok, he has this attitude with Lorna where deviation from her views aligning with his is grounds for thinking something is wrong with her, or that she’s in over her head and about to make a mistake. His base perception of Lorna seems to be that without his influence, she’ll turn evil or get herself killed.
On the one hand, this means stuff like this is well-intentioned, even though wanted Emma to do is stupid, invasive and insulting. His assumptions lead him to think the mental state Lorna’s in is dangerous for her to a point where she isn’t able to give consent. On the other hand, it really shows a massive ego on Havok’s part to think another human being needs to be however he imagines they should be. It also shows the foundation of the relationship between Lorna and Alex is shitty at the moment. Alex has no faith in Lorna as her own person, and part of a healthy relationship is enough respect to think of them as their own people able to make their own decisions. I’ve spoken positively about Alex leaving the X-Men to support Lorna after she lost her powers to join her in trekking across the world, but another way of taking that is “Alex doesn’t think Lorna can make it on her own and needs his guidance and protection.”
He’s attached to Lorna, but it’s really not in a good way. It tends to bring out the worst in both characters’ past depictions.